Tyler Lyle – Ithaca

This song is like a drug. I’ve been listening to it all day and it fades all the small things into nothingness and connects me with the wide, wild and unspeakable mystery.

It swells my heart with a quiet but intense joy, and yet I feel like crying for the mundane and the fantastic.

It’s an epic song, a twelve-minute gem of a song, a song that treads with conscious yet light steps through time and place, through thoughts and believes, searching for what was left behind or maybe what was only a dream, and after a journey around the world it ends in failure. Beautiful failure full of dignity and the inevitability of Greek tragedy.

The pictures are so deep and yet so instantly recognizable. Every word is familiar and everything is woven together so beautifully. This is songwriting on the level of Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen. If you know me just a little bit, you will know that this is the highest accolade I can give.

[thank you, Adam!]

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in listen, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That /was/ indeed a nice song. I played it in the background while looking around the internet, and it had a real soothing effect. :)

    • :) Oh, great! I adore Cohen. The collection of his poetry is one of the books that I always take with me, with every move and every longer trip. Have you listened to this song? Do you like it?

  2. Love the song, “Ithaca.” Did posting on Dylan today. Love Leonard Cohen as well. A young person I know just went to see Leonard Cohen and loved him. Glad a younger generation appreciates him. You know…I wrote to Leonard Cohen when he was living on a Greek Island…many, many, many years ago. He wrote back to me, saying, “Ilene, I really don’t know where I’m going…” in a circular mode. I had saved the letter and then lost it!!!!!
    I was a very young teenager. The airmail letter is gone but not forgotten!

    • WOW. Wow, he wrote you a letter??? Cohen is one of my absolute favourite writers and musicians and just fascinating human beings. Hydra… I almost went there myself, just to see where he’d lived. Wow…
      And I saw your Dylan post! :) He’s another of my favourites.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

Jonas Journeys

Travel Blogger, Amateur Photographer, Adventurer

Harmon Drive

a music exploration experiment

whistle.clap.stomp

just try to sit still

Ilene On Words

The Power of Words

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Red Said

A Californian with her heart and headphones stuck in the UK.

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

50 Year Project

My challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch the top 100 movies

Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Honest Reviews, Bookish Discussions & Enthusiastic Nerding.

Hot Pink Underwear

Little secrets. My stories. Wanna see?

myoxisamoron

Life, Stress and Humor

Defining Wonderland

Exploring the Curious Life

life on wry

Life as a sandwich generation x’er, stacked with irony. As a ‘normal’ person peering out from the boundaries of suburbia, as a transplant from another state, maybe another planet. As a mother of teenage boys and freelance working writer balancing parenting with helping to care for my mother. And now as an only child of a mother with Alzheimer’s (which sucks).

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for the ride. Stay for adventure!

Marsha Lee

Streaming Thoughts

hastywords

Turning Tears and Laughter into Words

aliceatwonderland

. . . down the rabbit hole

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create By Any Means Necessary!

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Mirth and Motivation

Motivate. Elevate. Laugh. Live Positively...

Posting Tuesdays.

I am Grayson: Author. Painter. Madness Maker.

Come for Company

Somewhere to chat on major world Holidays

EL Appleby: Short Stories

out of my tiny mind

pambustin

ramblings from a renegade scribbler

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Keri M. Peardon

Vampires, Ladies, & Potpourri

the timbre of my heart

a space to share the music that gets me through

patwoodblogging

Criminal tendencies in print

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order

Anna Scott Graham

Indie Novelist and Novice Quilter

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

theinnerwildkat

Passions For Books, Writing and Music-however it manifests itself

Somerton Smith

Inspiration * Science* Spirituality * Other Ideas Just For Fun

rightswriter

Human rights commentary and analysis of the Asia Pacific region

inkyfingersinkymind

writing about thinking about writing

Gypsy Mind

design for the free spirit...

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

