a postcard from the Rocky Mountains

Hey guys,

just checking in. In case you’re wondering: no, I haven’t gone AWOL again. I’m having the most awesome and wonderful time on an epic trip to the USA. I spent one week in Colorado, road-tripping the Rocky Mountains with one of my closest friends, and we both LOVED it! I would show you photos, but the friend we’re staying with at the moment uses a Macbook without a card reader and I can’t connect my camera any other way. So you’ll just have to believe me if I tell you that Colorado is BE-AU-TI-FUL and that I’m constantly close to tears these days just from being so overwhelmed by beauty and the feeling of freedom.

Apart from the diary I’m keeping and that I brought from home, I bought an exercise book here and am filling it with writing of the creative, rather than the personal, kind. I’ve even written a poem again this week, something that used to come so easily and that has hasn’t happened in a looooooong while. It’s kind of immature and simple, all about a falling star that I saw, so I won’t share it here, but just the feeling of being able to come up with words that grab me enough to want to shape them and make them better… wow, I haven’t had that in a long time. A very long time.

Morale of this story: Happiness, good people and travelling do amazing things for creativity. At least, they do for mine.

I’ll be back when I’ve figured out a way to share some of my photos. Maybe a couple of hundred. I’m not sure I can do anything below that.

Love you guys! Be back soon, hopefully with something more fulfilling than these vague promises. Just wanted to tell you that the Rockies rock very much indeed and so does being happy.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on August 17, 2013, in travels. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow! It sounds like you are having lots of fun. Enjoy it! Hope to see some pictures later. :D

  2. 2 weeks from this posting. photooossss!!!!!!!!

Comments and feedback are welcome!

Jonas Journeys

Travel Blogger, Amateur Photographer, Adventurer

Harmon Drive

a music exploration experiment

whistle.clap.stomp

just try to sit still

Ilene On Words

The Power of Words

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Red Said

A Californian with her heart and headphones stuck in the UK.

ruleofstupid

Reading, writing and a-rhythmic tics

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

50 Year Project

My challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch the top 100 movies

Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Honest Reviews, Bookish Discussions & Enthusiastic Nerding.

Hot Pink Underwear

Little secrets. My stories. Wanna see?

myoxisamoron

Life, Stress and Humor

Defining Wonderland

Exploring the Curious Life

life on wry

Life as a sandwich generation x’er, stacked with irony. As a ‘normal’ person peering out from the boundaries of suburbia, as a transplant from another state, maybe another planet. As a mother of teenage boys and freelance working writer balancing parenting with helping to care for my mother. And now as an only child of a mother with Alzheimer’s (which sucks).

Susie Lindau's Wild Ride

Come for the ride. Stay for adventure!

Marsha Lee

Streaming Thoughts

hastywords

Turning Tears and Laughter into Words

aliceatwonderland

. . . down the rabbit hole

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create By Any Means Necessary!

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Mirth and Motivation

Motivate. Elevate. Laugh. Live Positively...

Posting Tuesdays.

I am Grayson: Author. Painter. Madness Maker.

Come for Company

Somewhere to chat on major world Holidays

EL Appleby: Short Stories

out of my tiny mind

pambustin

ramblings from a renegade scribbler

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Keri M. Peardon

Vampires, Ladies, & Potpourri

the timbre of my heart

a space to share the music that gets me through

patwoodblogging

Criminal tendencies in print

disregard the prologue

Life, writing, books, dragons- not necessarily in that order

Anna Scott Graham

Indie Novelist and Novice Quilter

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

theinnerwildkat

Passions For Books, Writing and Music-however it manifests itself

Somerton Smith

Inspiration * Science* Spirituality * Other Ideas Just For Fun

rightswriter

Human rights commentary and analysis of the Asia Pacific region

inkyfingersinkymind

writing about thinking about writing

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

