cheating

I’m starting to cheat. For NaNo. No, I’m not starting to write before November 1st.  It’s more personal than that. I’m starting to cheat on my story idea.

This is so typical of me. I have an idea I’m excited about, happy with and eager to start on – and then I loose interest. I start seeing all the difficulties. I realize all the ways in which it won’t work. I fantasize about the beginning and the end and get discouraged by the middle ground. It starts to feel like work. New ideas come fluttering out of my dreams, out of songs, out of something I see or hear… All intend on enticing me away.

So now I’m sitting here with a story idea, fully-fledged characters, a plot that is basically worked out (but would profit a lot from me sitting down and spending some serious time polishing it up) and all these fresh, beautiful ideas are fluttering around my head. They distract me. I want to follow them. They are luring me away from my golden idea that I’ve already spent hours and hours on.

So what do I do? I try to remain loyal. Every new idea gets its own word document where I dash down the idea and any connotations I have. Mostly that’s it. If the idea is especially strong, I write a few paragraphs about the aspect that holds my mind most active. After that I close it and put it in my little writing corner on my computer (my dropbox folder, for safekeeping). Then I try to concentrate on my NaNo idea. Usually it works. Sometimes it doesn’t.

Do you suffer from inconstancy in your story affections as well?

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on October 21, 2011, in surfing language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

