the widening gaze

I just stopped in the middle of cleaning the drawers of my new room before starting to put away my things in it, and sat back on my feet to watch the reflection of the lamp and the candles in the window, glowing against a dark cloud in the dusky sky. It was one of those moments when you feel your vision going out, and like an astronaut sees the whole earth suspended in space, I suddenly became intensely aware of this city: of the people living in the neighbouring houses, in the house opposite mine and the one to the back, and the ones connected to those again, the people in this neighbourhood, and in neighbouring neighbourhoods, in the whole city. And it made me feel humble and sad and joyful all together, to think that we are all connected, all united in our shared pursuit of living, all the hundreds and thousands and millions of people, all individuals, all breathing and thinking and acting alongside me.

While I’m building my little nest, I’m feeling very small and very honoured to share this earth, this space, this life with you.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in day-to-day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. good,love the simpleness and beauty of the way you describe common things. Are all the pics yours? Just love the actual two ones!!!

    • You’re so kind. Your opinion means a lot to me!

      The photo from the header is mine (Greece, after Kosovo this summer). My profile picture is from a literature calender I had some years ago. I loved it so much that I scanned it from the paper, but unfortunately I don’t know who the photographer is, it didn’t say.

      It went with a quotation by Gloria Anzaldúa though, which I equally love: “The world I create in the writing compensates for what the real world does not give me”.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

