24h of reading

Pheeeww…. I have just this minute emerged from a 24-hour-reading-sprint. The first time in years that I took up a book, started reading and was finished reading 24 hours later, with six hours of sleep squeezed in between 6am and noon. My mind and imagination are still caught up in the story and somehow I don’t want to wake up, just float in that world and feel a part of it.

The book that has kept me enthralled so much is one I picked up almost randomly in an Oxfam shop and it’s called ‘Rivers of London’, written by Ben Aaronovitch. I’d never heard of either him or the book before, but apparently it was a Sunday Times Bestseller, so I guess it got the following and praise it deserves.

(I took a short break just there in writing this post to check out the author/book website, The Folly. Come on, click on the link, it’s fun!)

I still can’t shake off the imaginary world created in the book – not that I want to. This is what a good story is supposed to do: suck you in, make the world it conjures up believable and real and make it linger in the heads of the people. And leave them wanting more (to quote a line of the main character). And I do want more. There’s a second story revolving around the character cast and tomorrow I’m so going to go to the nearest library (which is only a leisurely ten minute stroll away from my front door, lucky me) to see if they have it. I hope they do.

I won’t write what it’s all about, you can check that our yourselves, e.g. at the relevant amazon site, or the book website linked to above, or just trust me and go and get it, because it’ll have you reading through the night!

But since I’m a nice person, I’ll give you the book blurb anyway… just to save you the trouble of clicking on the links.

My name is Peter Grant and until January I was just probationary constable in that mighty army for justice known to all right-thinking people as the Metropolitan Police Service (as the Filth to everybody else). My only concerns in life were how to avoid a transfer to the Case Progression Unit – we do paperwork so real coppers don’t have to – and finding a way to climb into the panties of the outrageously perky WPC Leslie May.

Then one night, in pursuance of a murder inquiry, I tried to take a witness statement from someone who was dead but disturbingly voluable, and that brought me to the attention of Inspector Nightingale, the last wizard in England. Now I’m a Detective Constable and a trainee wizard, the first apprentice in fifty years, and my world has become somewhat more complicated: nests of vampires in Purley, negotiating a truce between the warring god and goddess of the Thames, and digging up graves in Covent Garden . . . and there’s something festering at the heart of the city I love, a malicious vengeful spirit that takes ordinary Londoners and twists them into grotesque mannequins to act out its drama of violence and despair. The spirit of riot and rebellion has awakened in the city, and it’s falling to me to bring order out of chaos – or die trying.

…….. well? Does that sound enticing or what? Read it. Really.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in day-to-day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. wow, you read fast! and well, Rivers of London is a fabulously awesomely wonderful impossible-to-put down book. happy you enjoyed it!

    • 🙂
      It’s easy to read a book in a day if you don’t do anything else and read every second you get, like while you’re cooking and waiting for the water to boil, or while eating, having propped up the book and holding it in place with cutlery, or while brushing your teeth… (I think you get the picture!)
      I totally enjoyed the book. I can’t wait to read the second one. I love those stories where the real world intersects with something magical and both elements are still believable.
      How about you? Have you read ‘Moon over Soho’ as well? Is it as good?

  2. Moon over Soho was great. A little different from the first one, since we already know all the characters, but just as fun to read. I recently posted a review:

    http://littleredreviewer.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/moon-over-soho-by-ben-aaronovich/

Comments and feedback are welcome!

