the unstoppable forces of inertia

I’m sitting here at my desk, all dressed up, made up and psyched up for a Saturday night out with friends. The day was spent in an orgy of cleaning: my housemates and me went on a wild spring-cleaning spree. Most of the day we were high on the smell of cleaning products. This morning I almost went running, and this evening again. Before going to bed last night I made a list of poetry competitions.

Now, all these things might not mean much to you, but they do to me. It means that I managed to give inertia a good run for its money. Even though I didn’t actually go running, the fact that I considered it as a serious option twice is extremely unusual for me. Especially because I hate running. And about the poetry competitions – I’m scared stiff, but I will work on some of my stuff, tidy it up, make it better, make it the best it can be, and send it off. I will never know if it’s any good if it just sits around my computer.

What does this amount to? My battle-fever held out for 24 hours so far and it’s looking good to continue. Now I gotta bundle up against the cold. No, inertia, I will NOT stay home and spend Saturday night at the computer. Enough of that.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on February 11, 2012, in day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. go antje go antje go! go antje go antje go! you will win the battle ^_^

  2. i just considert to asked for a “like-it” button….and then i thought “damn facebook – not everythink you can say can be expressed by a “like-it” button…..but i do like it, and i am proud and i hope you go on an DO win the battel and that fortuna is looking at you with a smile and helping you out of the misery with “worriing how to pay next month’ rent”! love you!

Comments and feedback are welcome!

