signs of growing up

I survived! The first day of being thirty, and I neither feel particularly older, nor did I spontaneously develop wrinkles over night.

Yes, I did check quite closely in the mirror this morning. Why are you grinning like that?

I dreaded this threshold for a long time, but now I’m past it, it seems that neither wrinkles, nor growing up, happen over night. It’s easy to check for wrinkles, it’s a bit harder to check for signs of growing up, but I’ll be going with these for the moment:

  • you don’t get joy out of the fact that you managed to go over the speed limit, as verified by a digital “speed-awareness” sign, on your bike
  • you don’t sing along to your music while in the middle of town
  • you don’t admit to the insurance guy that you have no idea what he’s asking you about on the phone because you’ve just never had to think about it/never were interested in it/never could be bothered – and even if you do, you feel guilty about it

I think I’m good.

Unless you know any other “you’ve grown up” signs? If you do, please let me know. I need to make sure nothing is sneaking up on me.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in day-to-day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

