Is music seasonal?

As a dry spring slowly blends into a surprisingly humid summer, my playlists begin to change. It happens so imperceptibly that I almost don’t notice. One by one, songs that I have been addicted to for weeks and months drop off the radar and others, that only a short while before I was uninterested in, emerge from the ocean of music.

To be explicit – the more introspective songs of the folk/inde-folk/[whatever-you-wanna-call-it] persuasion fade out a bit and songs that sound more robust and usually hail from the box labelled ‘pop’ enter. With rising temperatures, I’m sure that reggae and ska will make their way back onto my playlists as well.

This is not a conscious choice. Well, not quite true. Obviously I do choose what music to listen to. But it’s unconscious in the way that, come summer, I’m just more drawn towards music that has faster rhythms, that is more sensual, and usually has to be played much louder. It is music that reminds me more of my body – I can feel the beats, I can dance to it.

This is not to say that I’m not still madly in love with introspective, intelligent songs, or that I don’t enjoy them, in summer. Nor do I mean to say that they only ‘fit’ autumn, winter, spring… And I really don’t think that reggae can only be appreciated in summer.

What I do mean to say is that I think my musical preferences adjust to my (cliché?) ideas of the season I’m in. I also mean to say that I’m looking forward to summer and to bold, unapologetically loud, joyful, rhythm-driven, shout-along sounds.

Do you think music is seasonal? Or is your music taste? Or am I the only one who experiences this seasonal shift in preferences?

summer sounds…

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in day-to-day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

