things learned, pt 1

I love the sound of seagulls. I stepped off the bus and heard them crying overhead and suddenly knew what I had missed without knowing I’d missed it.

Worrying ahead over what might or might  not happen is a useless, stupid activity and I will try very hard to never do it again.

It’s not safe for me to enter paper and stationary shops or book shops if I have no extra money to spend. Paperchase is my financial downfall.

Catching up with real friends is not catching up so much, as just being with them. How could I forget how much better I feel just for the fact of being in the company of most of these people?!?

I will NOT one day just wake up and suddenly be a sophisticated, self-assured, grown-up adult. I should probably just accept that I will do the following things for the rest of my life:

  • walk past a cash machine and two minutes later realize I need cash and instead of walking back, walk on “because surely there’ll be another one just ahead” and end up walking in a big, unnecessary circle back to the cash machine I saw before
  • be late for appointments
  • interrupt my friends while they are talking from the sudden need to hug them
  • walk around with a coffee in my hand getting cold, because I just need to find the “perfect” place to sit down and enjoy it, and end up sipping it lukewarm crouched at the end of crowded bench surrounded by harrassed mothers and screaming children

… Graduation Day today. I’ll see even more of my wonderful friends and have time to be with them. It’s going to be good.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on July 19, 2012, in day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey, congratulations on graduating! =D And I can see why Paperchase is your downfall. I just took a look and realised that it could be my possible downfall too, haha.

    • They have the CUTEST notebooks and calendars and pens and cards and … Gaaaaahhhh! I try to appease my conscience by buying gifts there. One for me, one for my middle sister, one for me, one for my second-youngest sister, one for me, …

Comments and feedback are welcome!

