the light of autumn

What is the difference between the light of summer and that of autumn?

There is a difference, I can see it. Where summer is bold, autumn is hazy. Where summer glares, autumn mellows. And where the light of summer picks out silhouettes in blinding brightness, boldly slashing pictures in light and dark, autumn’s light drips gentle gold, letting it sink into the colours and bringing forth the details between the contours.

Maybe the difference is  that of extremes crumbled, of experience gained, of subtlety discovered.

.

About wordsurfer

writer, ex-teacher, human rights believer & fighter, traveller, adventure-seeker, freedom lover, global citizen. big on daydreams, less so on reality.

Posted on September 8, 2012, in day-to-day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. “Where summer glares, autumn mellows.” – you caught the difference right there. I can’t stand the sun during summer, but I welcome its warm glow during winter. =]

  2. And shadows lengthen.
    Autumn feels more filtered, less obvious.

    • True, shadows lengthen and the days are perceptibly shorter again as well. I agree totally that it feels less obvious. When I wrote this, it actually got me to reflect on how many levels the analogy of the passing of the year and the passing of life is true – it put me into a very philosophical mood! 🙂

  3. I found this entry when I posted my own on the quality of the autumn light. You really did capture it well…and more briefly, more focused than I did. We certainly share similar interests and I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Comments and feedback are welcome!

